Goal Number One for the New Year: More Mileage, Less Intensity


Cross Country in Upstate New York (1985)

Cross Country in Upstate New York (1985)

This is going to be a short blog entry.  This is my first publically-stated goal for the upcoming year.  I’ve been snooping about the internets, reading Michael Sandrock’s Running with the Legends, George Sheehan’s This Running Life, looking over World Publication’s Guide to Distance Running (a classic), and the latest copy of Running Times.  It all confirms what I have been telling myself for about the last year: more, but slower.  I’ve been running my easy runs too quickly (since I was in high school…) and my speed work too slowly (because I’m beat from running everything too quickly).  Therefore, one of my main running goals is to increase my mileage, but reduce the intensity of my easy runs (thereby reducing the chance of injury, hopefully).  This will probably mean that I will have to start running early in the morning – need to find the time somewhere.  Has anyone else out there had a “come to Jesus” moment about their mileage?  Did it help?  I would love to hear some success stories.

One comment on “Goal Number One for the New Year: More Mileage, Less Intensity

  1. Drew says:

    I will be interested in how this turns out for you. I read a book called “Run Less Run Faster.” That would tend to send you in a different direction; less mileage, all at higher intensity. I can’t bring myself to follow their plan because it is just too hard to execute. I am sticking with Hal Higdon, with my twist of changing out his “junk miles” (my definition: not a long run, not a tempo run, not a fartlek, not speed intervals, hence junk) for other cross-training like indoor cycling.

Leave a Reply

